Continuous Violence Against the Family
Texas treats domestic violence cases very seriously due to how the cycle of domestic abuse can become deadly with time. Repeated and deliberate domestic violence events can lead to an even more enhanced charge known as continuous violence against the family. This a felony-level offense, which means a conviction could land you in prison.
If you or someone you know has been arrested for continuous violence against the family, then it’s important you seek experienced legal representation. A skilled and experienced attorney can utilize their resources, network and knowledge to assist you with your case. Don’t wait another moment in uncertainty on what to do next. Contact qualified legal counsel today so you’re prepared to face these charges.
Attorney for Continuous Violence Against the Family in Harris County, TX
Domestic violence offenses are incredibly serious, but in some cases domestic abuse might simply be a misunderstanding between family members. This doesn’t mean that Texas court will take the incident lightly. If you were convicted of several domestic violence cases in the past year, then it’s possible you could be charged with continuous violence against the family.
If you’ve been arrested for a domestic violence offense, we recommend you seek counsel that you can trust like Horak Law. Matthew Horak is an experienced attorney with years of practice he can draw on for your case. His professionalism and love for his work helps attorney Horak create effective and efficient defenses for his clients.
Learn more by calling (713) 225-8000 for your first consultation free. Horak Law represents people throughout the greater The Woodlands area such as Conroe, Montgomery and Magnolia.
Overview of Continuous Violence Against the Family in TX
- What Does Texas Consider to be Continuous Violence Against the Family?
- Domestic Assault Under Texas Law
- Additional Resources
What Does Texas Consider to be Continuous Violence Against the Family?
It’s important you have a clear understanding of certain legal definitions before you learn about the crime of continuous violence against the family. The term “domestic violence” refers to any assaultive or violent offense between family or household members. This includes both relatives by blood or marriage, as well as ex-spouses and shared children.
Under Texas Penal Code 25.11, a person commits a crime if within a 12-month period they engage in conduct that would be considered a domestic violence crime. It’s important to remember that if tried by a jury they aren’t required to unanimously agree on:
- If the conduct in which the violence occurred would be considered assault;
- The exact date of when the conduct occurred; or
- The county in which the conduct occurred
Instead the jury must unanimously agree that that you engaged in assaultive conduct two or more times towards a family or household member. In addition, you cannot be charged with more than one count of continuous violence against the family if the all the incidents were committed against a single family or household member.
Continuous violence against the family is a third-degree felony, that can result in:
- Up to 10 years in prison; and
- A possible fine of up to $10,000
Domestic Assault Charges in Texas
To be charged with continuous violence against the family, you must have a past criminal record for domestic assault. The crime can be found under Texas Penal Code Section 22.01, which states you could be charged with domestic assault for committing any of the following crimes against a family or household member.
- Intentionally inflicting bodily harm to a family or household member;
- Threatening a family or household member with imminent bodily injury; or
- Making physical contact with a family or household member that you know could be considered as offensive or provocative
It’s important to remember that domestic assault charges also apply to dating relationships. If you’ve been in a romantic relationship with another person for at least six months continuously, then it’s considered a dating relationship in the eyes of the court.
Domestic violence is a class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by a $500 fine. If bodily injury occurred on the victim because of the crime, then it’s a class A misdemeanor. The penalties for a class A misdemeanor include a fine of up to $4,000 and up to 12 months in jail.
Benchbook for Family Violence – Visit the official website of Texas Courts to gain access to the Texas Family Violence Benchbook, a reference for judges and other legal professionals. Access the document to learn more about protective orders, domestic violence offenses and child custody or support divisions.
Family Violence Report by DPS – Visit the official website of the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to read their report on family violence. Access the document to learn more about domestic violence statistics and data in Texas collected by the Department of Public Safety.
Domestic Violence Attorney in The Woodlands, TX
Contact Horak Law to start your defense plan today. Matthew Horak is aggressive in the courtroom, but compassionate with clients. He understands that domestic violence cases can be confusing and that there’s two sides to every story. Let him apply his skills and knowledge to create a sturdy defense specially for your case.
It’s time you protect your freedom today with a quality defense. You can call us at (713) 225-8000 to set up a case consultation. Horak Law accepts clients throughout the greater Texas area including Brazoria County, Harris County, Fort Bend County and Montgomery County.
This article was last updated on November 22, 2019.